Presidential race: The battleground states

On February 16, Nigerians will troop out to elect a new President that will pilot the affairs of the nation for another four years.

Of the 72 presidential candidates on the final list recently released by the Independent National Electoral Commission that are eligible to contest the presidential election, two contenders are generally believed to be the front runners. They are President Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress and former Vice-President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party.

The contest is arguably between the two leading parties, the APC and the PDP. It is therefore no surprise that a number of registered parties have adopted either Buhari or Atiku as their presidential candidate for the February 16 poll.

Investigations carried out by SUNDAY PUNCH across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, on Saturday showed Buhari in control of about 11 states, while about 10 other states are said to be the strongholds of Atiku.

The battleground, from all indications, would be in 15 states including the FCT, where the two contestants are expected to slug it out. The survey shows that whoever wins in each of these states will, most likely, coast home to victory.

The states are Kaduna, Niger, Kwara. Plateau, Kogi, Benue, Adamawa, Ondo, Oyo, Osun, Edo, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Gombe and the FCT

share Post

Leave your comment

× Upload Music